RON THORNBURGH
Secretary of State

STATE OF KANSAS
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
(785) 296-4564
www.kssos.org


1998 Kansas Election Calendar

(City primary) = March 3 City Primary (City general) = April 7 City General
(Primary) = August 4 Statewide Primary (General) = November 3 Statewide General
CEO = County Election Officer SOS = Secretary of State

Statutory citations are found in Kansas Statutes Annotated Chapter 25 unless otherwise noted.



DECEMBER, 1997
Wednesday, December 31

CEO - Campaign finance report deadline for 2nd and 3rd class city candidates and township candidates. -901(b)



JANUARY, 1998
Thursday, January 1

CEO - (City) Deadline for city clerk to file with CEO the city offices to be elected. -2118
CEO - (City primary) (City general) Voters may apply for advance voting ballots to be mailed. -1122(b)(3), (4)

Friday, January 2

SOS - (City primary) Deadline to notify CEOs of close of registration. (60 days before election) -2311(c)

Monday, January 12

SOS/CEO - Campaign finance report deadline for candidates for state office and 1st class cities. -4148(a)(4)

Friday, January 16

SOS - (City primary) Send CEOs advance voting ballot forms and voter instructions. (35 days before election) Deadline January 27. -1121
CEO - (City primary) Deadline to mail federal service absentee ballots to applicants. -1220

Tuesday, January 27

CEO - (City general) Noon deadline for city candidates to file or withdraw. -2106, -2109

Friday, January 30

SOS/CEO - (City primary) Deadline for in-state residence change. Elector who changes residence within 30 days before election may vote in former precinct. (Statutory deadline Sunday, February 1.) -3701



FEBRUARY
Monday, February 2

CEO - (City primary) Deadline to publish times, places and close of registration. -2310, -2311(a)(4), K.A.R. 7-23-4
CEO - (City primary) Deadline for county party chairs to recommend election board workers. (Statutory deadline Sunday, February 1.) -2803(a)

Friday, February 6

SOS - (City general) Deadline to notify CEOs of close of registration. (60 days before election) -2311(c)

Wednesday, February 11

CEO - (City primary) Begin mailing advance ballots. (20 days before election) -1123
CEO -(City primary) Advance voting in person in office of CEO may begin. -1122(c), -1123

Monday, February 16

SOS/CEO - (City primary) Last day to register to vote. -2311(a)(4)
CEO - (City primary) Appoint election boards. -2801

Tuesday, February 17

SOS - (City general) Send CEOs advance voting ballot forms and voter instructions. (35 days before election) Deadline March 3. -1121

Friday, February 20

CEO - (City general) Deadline to mail federal service absentee ballots to applicants. -1220

Week of February 23

CEO - (City primary) Conduct school for election boards. 25-2806

Tuesday, February 24

CEO - (City primary) Advance voting in person in office of CEO must begin (earlier if CEO desires). -1122(c)

Friday, February 27

CEO - (City primary) Deadline for voters to apply for advance voting ballots to be mailed. -1122(b)(3)



MARCH
Monday, March 2

CEO - (City primary) Noon deadline to vote advance ballots in person in office of CEO. -1122(c)

Tuesday, March 3
CITY PRIMARY ELECTION -2108a(a)

CEO - (City primary) Sick/disabled/illiterate voters may apply for advance voting ballots. -1124(c)
CEO - (City primary) Advance voting ballots must be returned by close of polls. -1132

Wednesday, March 4

SOS/CEO - Registration books reopen. -2311
Friday, March 6

CEO - (City primary) County boards of canvassers certify election results. -3101(d), -3104
CEO - (City general) Deadline for in-state residence change. Elector who changes residence within 30 days before election may vote in former precinct. -3701

Monday, March 9

CEO - (City primary) Noon deadline to request recount. -3107(b)
CEO - (City general) Deadline for county party chairs to recommend election board workers. (Statutory deadline Sunday, March 8.) -2803(a)
CEO - (City primary) Issue certificates of nomination if recount is not requested. -3110, K.A.R. 7-26-1
CEO - (City general) Deadline to publish times, places and close of registration. -2310, -2311(a), K.A.R. 7-23-4

Tuesday, March 10

CEO - (City primary) Recount must be initiated if requested. -3107(b)

Friday, March 13

CEO - (City primary) Recount must be completed by 5:00 p.m. -3107(b)

Wednesday, March 18

CEO - (City general) Begin mailing advance ballots. (20 days before election) -1123
CEO - (City general) Advance voting in person in office of CEO may begin. -1122(c), -1123

Monday, March 23

CEO - (City general) Last day to register to vote. -2311(a)(6), (7)
CEO - (City general) Appoint election boards. -2801

Week of March 30

CEO - (City general) Conduct school for election boards. -2806

Tuesday, March 31

CEO - (City general) Advance voting in person in office of CEO must begin (earlier if CEO desires). -1122(c), (d)



APRIL
Wednesday, April 1

CEO - (Primary) Voters may apply for advance voting ballots to be mailed. -1122(b)(1)
SOS - (Primary) Deadline to send CEOs notice of primary election for publication once each week for three consecutive weeks. -204
Thursday, April 2

CEO - Campaign finance report deadline for 2nd and 3rd class city candidates and township candidates. -901(b)

Friday, April 3

CEO - (City general) Deadline for voters to apply for advance voting ballots to be mailed. -1122(b)(4)

Monday, April 6

CEO - (City general) Noon deadline to vote advance voting ballots in person in office of CEO. -1122(c)
CEO - (City general) Distribute ballots and supplies to supervising judges. -604(c), -2706

Tuesday, April 7
CITY GENERAL ELECTION -2107

CEO - (City primary) Sick/disabled/illiterate voters may apply for advance voting ballots. -1124(c)
CEO - (City general) Advance voting ballots must be returned by close of polls. -1132

Wednesday, April 8

SOS/CEO - Registration books reopen. -2311(a)

Friday, April 10

CEO - (City general) County boards of canvassers certify election results. -3101(d), -3104

Week of April 13

CEO - (City general) Contest of election may be filed in district court. (Deadline 5 days after issuance of certificate of election) -1439
Monday, April 13

CEO - (City general) Noon deadline to request recount. -3107(b)
CEO - (City general) Issue certificates of election if recount is not requested. Certify results to city governing bodies. -2120, -3110, K.A.R. 7-26-2

Tuesday, April 14

CEO - (City general) Recount must be initiated if requested. -3107(b)

Thursday, April 16

SOS - Prepare advance voting ballot forms for national, state, county and township offices. Send to CEOs by July 2.

Friday, April 17

CEO - (City general) Recount must be completed by 5:00 p.m. -3107(b)



MAY
Monday, May 4

SOS - Mail updated election forms to CEOs.

Thursday, May 7

CEO - Campaign finance report deadline for 2nd and 3rd class city candidates and township candidates. -901(b)



JUNE
Monday, June 1

SOS - Noon deadline for new parties to file petitions. -302a

Friday, June 5

SOS - (Primary) Deadline to notify CEOs of close of registration for August primary. (60 days before primary) -2311(c)

Wednesday, June 10

SOS/CEO - (Primary) Noon deadline for candidates to file (except independent candidates).-205, -305(a)
SOS/CEO - (Primary) Noon deadline for candidates to withdraw. -306a
SOS - (Primary) Mail list of primary candidates for federal office to President of US Senate, Clerk of US House and Federal Election Commission.
SOS - (Primary) Mail certified list of candidates and addresses to CEOs. -209

Week of June 15

CEO - (Primary) Publish list of candidates for primary election for three consecutive weeks. -209

Friday, June 19

CEO - (Primary) Deadline to mail federal service absentee ballots to applicants. -1220

Monday, June 22

SOS - (Primary) Mail rotation of names and orders to rotate for primary election ballots to CEOs. -212

Tuesday, June 30

SOS - (Primary) Deadline to transmit advance voting ballot forms and voter instructions for national, state, county, township offices to CEOs. -1121
SOS - Mail primary and general ballot forms for national, state, county and township offices to CEOs. -616, -617, -618



JULY
Friday, July 3

CEO - (Primary) Deadline for in-state residence change. Elector who changes residence within 30 days before election may vote in former precinct. -3701

Monday, July 6

CEO - (Primary) Deadline to publish times, places and close of registration. -2310, -2311(a)(3), K.A.R. 7-23-4
CEO - (Primary) Deadline for county party chairs to recommend election board workers. (Statutory deadline Sunday, July 5) -2803(a)

Wednesday, July 15

CEO - (Primary) Begin mailing advance voting ballots. (20 days before election) -1123
CEO - (Primary) Advance voting in person in office of CEO may begin. -1122(c), -1123

Thursday, July 16; Friday, July 17; Monday, July 20

CEO - (Primary) First and second class cities may provide for late hours of registration (optional). -2311(d

Monday, July 20

SOS - (Primary) Mail abstract books to CEOs. -3006
SOS/CEO - (Primary) Last day to register or to change party affiliation. -2311(a)(3), -3304(b)
CEO - (Primary) Deadline to mail copies of publication to each candidate and county party chairs. (Two weeks before election) -211
CEO - (Primary) Appoint election boards. -2801

Tuesday, July 21

CEO - (Primary) Certify to SOS and county party chairs voter registration and party affiliation totals by precinct. -3302, K.A.R. 7-27-1

Friday, July 24

CEO - (Primary) Deadline for county party chairs to suggest ballot changes to CEOs. -211
CEO - (Primary) Publish notice of test of voting equipment (opti-scan and voting machines). Notice must be published at least 48 hours before test. Notify county party chairs in writing. -1324, -4411(b), -4610(b)

Week of July 27

CEO - (Primary) Conduct school for election boards. -2806

Monday, July 27

SOS/CEO - Campaign finance report deadline for candidates for state office and 1st class cities. -4148(a)(1)
CEO - (Primary) Candidates and poll agents may inspect ballots. -604(c)

Tuesday, July 28

CEO - (Primary) Advance voting in person in office of CEO must begin (earlier if CEO desires). -1122(c), (d)
CEO - (Primary) Conduct test of voting machines and opti-scan equipment (within 5 days before election). -1324, -4411(b), -4610(b)

Friday, July 31

CEO - (Primary) Deadline for voters to apply for advance voting ballots to be mailed. -1122(b)(1)



AUGUST
Monday, August 3

SOS/CEO - (General) Noon deadline for independent candidates to file petitions. -305(b)
SOS/CEO - (General) Noon deadline for retention judges to file. 20-2908
CEO - (Primary) Noon deadline to vote advance voting ballots in person in office of CEO. -1122(c)
CEO - (Primary) Distribute ballots and supplies to supervising judges. -604(c)

Tuesday, August 4
PRIMARY ELECTION -203(a)

CEO - (Primary) Advance ballots must be returned by close of polls. -1132
CEO - (Primary) Sick/disabled/illiterate voters may apply for advance voting ballots. -1124(c)

Wednesday, August 5

SOS/CEO - Registration books reopen. -2311(a)
CEO - (Primary) Prepare preliminary final abstract. -3106
CEO - (General) Voters may apply for advance voting ballots to be mailed. -1122(b)(2)

Friday, August 7

CEO - (Primary) County boards of canvassers certify election results. -3104
CEO - (Primary) Prepare abstract for national and state offices, send to SOS as soon as possible. -3202

Monday, August 10

SOS/CEO - (Primary) Noon deadline to request recount. -3107(b)
CEO - (Primary) Issue certificates of nomination for county and township candidates if recount is not requested. -3110, K.A.R. 7-26-1

Week of August 10

CEO - (Primary) Objections to nominations for local office must be filed within three days of issuance of certificates of nomination. -308(a)(1)
Tuesday, August 11

SOS - (General) Prepare list of candidates. Certify to CEOs after state board of canvassers meets. Deadline October 14. -311
CEO - (Primary) Recount must be initiated if requested. -3107(b)

Friday, August 14

CEO - (Primary) Recount must be completed by 5:00 p.m. -3107(b)

Tuesday, August 18

CEO - (Primary) Deadline to forward election abstract to SOS. SOS will send a messenger to collect abstract and charge expenses to county if abstract is not forwarded. -3203

Friday, August 21

CEO - Deadline for county and township candidates to declare incapability for office and withdraw from nomination (10 days after county canvass). -306b(b)



SEPTEMBER
Tuesday, September 1

SOS - (Primary) Deadline for state board of canvassers to meet. -3205
SOS - (Primary) Objections to nominations for national and state office must be filed within three days of issuance of certificates of nomination. -308(a)(1)

Thursday, September 3

SOS - (General) Deadline to notify CEOs of close of registration for November election (at least 60 days before election). -2311(c), (d)
SOS - (General) Mail rotation of names and orders to rotate to CEOs. -610
CEO - Campaign finance report deadline for township candidates. -901(b)

Week of September 7

SOS - (General) Send the following to CEOs:
(1) Certified list of candidates to be published. Deadline October 14. -311
(2) Judicial ballots. -617
(3) Constitutional amendment resolution and ballot. -605, -607

SOS - (Primary) During this week (4 days after state canvass is complete):
(1) Mail certificates of nomination to all candidates (those nominated by primary). -3205
(2) Publish primary election results in the Kansas Register. -3205
SOS-(Primary) Objections to nominations for national and state office must be filed within 3 days of issuance of certificates of nominations. -308 (a)(1)

Tuesday, September 8

SOS/CEO - Deadline for national and state candidates to declare incapability for office and withdraw after state canvass of primary. ( 7 days after state board of canvassers meets) -306b(b)

Friday, September 18

CEO - (General) Deadline to mail federal service absentee ballots to applicants. -1220

Wednesday, September 23

SOS/CEO - (General) Deadline for withdrawal of a candidate nominated to fill candidate vacancy. -306b(d)

Tuesday, September 29

SOS - (General) Deadline to send CEOs advance voting ballot forms and voter instructions for national, state, county and township offices. -1121



OCTOBER
Friday, October 2

CEO - (General) Deadline for in-state residence change. Elector who changes residence within 30 days before election may vote in former precinct. -3701

Monday, October 5

CEO - (General) Deadline to publish times, places and close of registration. -2310, -2311(a)(3), K.A.R. 7-23-4
CEO - (General) Deadline for county party chairs to recommend election board workers. (Statutory deadline Sunday, October 4.) -2803(a)

Friday, October 9

CEO - (General) Deadline to mail copy of notice of general election to each person nominated for public office and judicial candidates. -105

Week of October 12

SOS - (General) Publish first notice of constitutional amendments (3 consecutive weeks). 64-103(b)

Wednesday, October 14

CEO - (General) Begin mailing advance voting ballots. (20 days before election) -1123
CEO - (General) Advance voting in person in office of CEO may begin. -1122(c), -1123

Thursday, October 15; Friday, October 16; Monday, October 19;

CEO - First and second class cities may provide for late hours of registration (optional). -2311(d)

Sunday, October 18

CEO - (General) Deadline to publish notice of general election. -105

Week of October 19

SOS - (General) Publish second notice of constitutional amendments. 64-103(b)

Monday, October 19

SOS - (General) Mail abstract books to CEOs. -3006
SOS/CEO - (General) Last day to register to vote. -2311(a)(3)
CEO -(General) Appoint election boards. -2801

Tuesday, October 20

CEO - (General) Certify to SOS and county party chairs voter registration and party affiliation totals by precinct. -3302, K.A.R. 7-27-1

Friday, October 23

CEO - (General) Publish notice of test of voting equipment (opti-scan and voting machines). Notice must be published at least 48 hours before test. Notify county party chairs in writing. -1324, -4411(b), -4610(b)

Week of October 26

SOS - (General) Publish third notice of constitutional amendments. 64-103(b)
CEO - (General) Conduct school for election boards. -2806

Monday, October 26

SOS/CEO - Campaign finance report deadline for candidates for state office and 1st class cities. -4148(a)(2)
CEO - (General) Candidates and poll agents may inspect ballots. -604(c)

Tuesday, October 27

CEO - (General) Advance voting in person in office of CEO must begin (earlier if CEO desires). -1122(c), (d)
CEO - (General) Conduct test of voting machines and opti-scan equipment (within 5 days before election). -1324, -4411(b), -4610(b)

Friday, October 30

CEO - (General) Deadline for voters to apply for advance voting ballots to be mailed. -1122(b)(2)



NOVEMBER
Monday, November 2

CEO - (General) Noon deadline to vote advance voting ballots in person in office of CEO. -1122(c)
CEO - (General) Distribute ballots and supplies to supervising judges. -604(c)

Tuesday, November 3
GENERAL ELECTION -101

CEO - (General) Advance ballots must be returned by close of polls. -1132
CEO - (General) Sick/disabled/illiterate voters may apply for advance voting ballots. -1124(c)

Wednesday, November 4

SOS/CEO - Registration books reopen. -2311(a)
CEO - (General) Prepare preliminary final abstract. -3106

Friday, November 6

CEO - (General) County boards of canvassers certify election results. -3104
CEO - (General) Prepare abstract for national and state offices, send to SOS as soon as possible. -3202

Week of November 9

CEO - (General) Contest of election for local office may be filed in district court. (Deadline 5 days after issuance of certificate of election) -1439

Monday, November 9

SOS/CEO - (General) Noon deadline to request recount. -3107(b)
CEO - (General) Issue certificates of election to county and township candidates if recount is not requested. -3110, K.A.R. 7-26-2

Tuesday, November 10

CEO - (General) Recount must be initiated if requested. -3107(b)

Friday, November 13

CEO - (General) Recount must be completed by 5:00 p.m. -3107(b)

Tuesday, November 17

CEO - (General) Deadline to forward election abstract to SOS. SOS will send a messenger to collect abstract and charge expenses to county if abstract is not forwarded. -3203

Wednesday, November 25

SOS - (General) State board of canvassers meets. (Tentative date--deadline December 1) -3206(b)
SOS - (General) Send certificate of election, copy of abstract, and notice of preorganizational meeting (to State House members-elect only) to all successful candidates. -3211(c), 46-143
SOS- (General) Contest of election for national or state office may be filed in district court. (Deadline 5 days after issuance of certificate of election) -1439

Week of November 30

SOS - (General) Publish general election results in the Kansas Register. -3211(d)



DECEMBER
Thursday, December 3

CEO - Campaign finance report deadline for township candidates. -901(b)

Monday, December 7

SOS - Convene House of Representatives preorganizational meeting. 46-142(a)

Thursday, December 31

CEO - Campaign finance report deadline for 2nd and 3rd class city candidates and township candidates. -901



JANUARY, 1999
Monday, January 11

SOS/CEO - Campaign finance report deadline. (Statutory deadline Sunday, January 10.) -4148(a)(3)
Regular term of office begins for all state, district, county and township offices (except county treasurer). -313